Anticipating a self-esteem boost

The New York Times wrote an article about health benefits of knitting.

“Unlike meditation, craft activities result in tangible and often useful products that can enhance self-esteem.”

Often useful? Who couldn’t use a 3-in-1 washclopotholder like this?!

IMG_0921

Project #2: washclopotholder. You might be thinking I accidentally made it wider at the top, and you’re right. WTF is up with adding stitches? Am I a magician?

Just last night, I used it to keep my youngest son warm as he slept. Kind of like a miniature blanket with uneven edges.

IMG_0956

It wasn’t creepy sneaking in and making sure his neck and elbow were warm enough. It’s winter!

My older son could also use it to take his mini pizza rolls out of the oven (quickly, though, so it doesn’t catch fire).

Or we could use it to give our smelly kitten a bath.

IMG_8863 copy

Kitten Izzo gets stinky. Find me the washclopotholder!

I can see it will take practice to reap the other health benefits of knitting. Mostly I hope it will allow time for my brain to resolve problems.

For now, I’m still trying to figure out how anyone in a knitting group could knit, count stitches and talk at the same time. Is this about reducing stress or causing it?

#CANTKNITFORSHIT

4 comments

  1. sanseilife · January 26, 2016

    Ha! I took my knitting to work on while watching the football game this weekend. Yikes, I had to rip out and start over 4 times!

    Like

    • Beth Johnson · January 27, 2016

      I’ve done that a few times now, too. I’ll be honest, it’s kind of fun to unravel something big. I’m sure it wouldn’t be as fun if it were 3/4 of a really nice sweater.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Twilight Storm Crafts · January 27, 2016

    Each stitch will have a loop sitting on the needle and you will notice after a row or so they all have a bar or knotty thing under it. (not really a Knot….) You’re probably gaining stitches because you’re raising that bar/loop-knot/place-where the stitches-below connect up on top of the needle you’re knitting off of.
    Try to keep knitting into just the single loop hanging on the upper part of the needle, and make sure you’re consistent in the direction you wrap your yarn around the needle. You can probably keep one finger behind your work to feel for that bar. There’s some good “anatomy of a stitch” things that show better them me trying to explain. Anyway, hope this helps. Sorry again if my posts on counting stitches gave the wrong impression. Your post really did make my day. Be well, and have a great night!

    Like

    • Beth Johnson · January 27, 2016

      Hi Twilight, I finally figured out how to get comments posted. Your response made my day, too. Also, I am laughing because my stitch adding is from “raising the bar.” It’s all about knitting a better washclopotholder!

      Like

Leave a comment